New Japan Pro-Wrestling | The New Beginning in Nagoya |Sat 30th January 2021 |17:30 |Aichi Prefectural Gymnasium, Dolphin’s Arena, Aichi.

The New Beginning in Nagoya comes to Aichi Prefectural Gymnasium in Aichi and brings you some of the best wrestling on the planet.  We see Kota Ibushi and SHO face off against Hiromu Takahashi and SANADA in a six-man tag match.  The United Empire looks set to destroy their foes, Hiroyoshi Tenzan and Satoshi Kojima in stipulation matches.  We also get to see The Ace Hiroshi Tanahashi face off for the NEVER Openweight Championship against current champion, The Dragon Shingo Takagi.

We are joined on English commentary by the wonderful Kevin Kelly and devious El Phantasmo.

MATCH ONE: Toru Yano & Kazuchika Okada Vs Yujiro Takahashi & EVIL  

Match Time: 7m 40s

WINNER: Toru Yano via a Schoolboy

STAR RATING: ***.5


MATCH TWO: BUSHI, Hiromu Takahashi, Tetsuya Naito & SANADA Vs Master Wato, Tomoaki Honma SHO & Kota Ibushi

We have to wait for the last night in Hiroshima to see SANADA and Kota Ibushi fight it out for the IWGP Heavyweight and Intercontinental Championships but from this tag match we know we will see an absolute classic.  SHO and Hiromu Takahashi’s feud has really heated up as of late, the two going hard with big elbow shots and moves.  The two face off in the main event of night one in Hiroshima,  Los Ingobernables de Japon are the best when it comes to mixing it up as a faction in tag team matches but they were not successful tonight.  SHO pinned BUSHI for the win.

Match Time: 11m32 s

WINNER: SHO via a Shock Arrow

STAR RATING: ****


MATCH THREE | CUSTODY of the MONGOLIAN CHOP: Great-O-Kahn vs Hiroyoshi Tenzan

This feud has escalated over the last month during The Road to The New Beginning in Nagoya shows with no sign of letting up, but now we are finally here and both men are holding nothing back in this brutal match.  ELP made a very fair point on commentary tonight “neither one is Mongolian so they shouldn’t be allowed to use the move in the first place”.  The Great-O-Kahn pins Hiroyoshi Tenzan for the win.

Match Time: 12m 45s

WINNER: Great-O-Kahn via The Eliminator.

            Hiroyoshi Tenzan can no longer use the Mongolian Chop.

STAR RATING: ***.75


MATCH FOUR | NO DQ MATCH: Satoshi Kojima Vs Will Ospreay

This is a hard hitting No Disqualification match with both men bringing their A Game, displaying inventive ways to use the tables, chairs and even ladders.  The two of them don’t let up the entire time with Kojima going through a table that explodes and Ospreay’s body completely destroying a ladder on the outside.  Will Ospreay pins Satoshi Kojima for the win.

The two of them are completely ruined by this match, Kojima being helped to the back while Ospreay limps away in victory.

Match Time: 16m 57s

WINNER: Will Ospreay via a Stormbreaker.

STAR RATING: ****.5


MAIN EVENT| MATCH FIVE | NEVER OPENWEIGHT CHAMPIONSHIP MATCH: Hiroshi Tanahashi Vs Shingo Takagi

The two of them start off hot and heavy both looking strong; this is a tantalizing match for Puroresu purists, The ACE of New Japan vs The Dragon who made DragonGate his kingdom for over a decade.  This is Shingo Takagi’s second title defence since he won the title back off of Minoru Suzuki.  Tanahashi is flying off the top rope to the outside in this match taking big risks while Takagi starts using the Twist and Shout to taunt the Ace and as a great insult.  Takagi even uses the Dragon Screw Leg Whip which is synonymous with Tanahashi.

The Great-O-Kahn attacked Tanahashi after the match, declaring himself the next challenger for the NEVER Openweight Championship.

Match Time: 35m 40s

WINNER: Hiroshi Tanahashi via a High Fly Flow.

STAR RATING: *****

New Japan Pro-Wrestling returns For Road to THE NEW BEGINNING HIROSHIMA Mon 1st February,  9am GMT, 6pm JST, 4am ET, 3am CT and 1am PT, available on New Japan World.