10 Best Magical Girl Anime You Need To Watch

Majokko Megu-chan

Megu-chan has been noted in particular for its portrayal of multiple magical girls and the friendship between girls, laying the groundwork for shows like Sailor Moon. Majokko Megu-chan translates as Little Meg the Witch Girl and ran for 72 episodes between 1974 and 1975.

The show follows an accident pron witch whose powers are great, she comes to earth to learn and integrate into society, learning about human relationships and growing into the future ruler of her world. The show is a true coming-of-age story as Megu-chan discovers emotions and feelings she never knew she had while keeping to her free-spirited nature. She learns about family and has real friendships which help her in the battles she faces over the 72-episode show.

Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha


Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha is a spin-off of a popular Japanese game, Triangle Heart, and has a big male following in Japan and Internationally. We follow Nanoha Takamachi, a girl who meets a young mage named Yuno, and together they must collect 21 artifacts known as Jewel Seeds. A sequel was released in 2005 called Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha A’s with a third, Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha StrikerS following in 2006 which takes place 10 years after A’s.

The main character of the show is Nanoha Takamachi who is a nine-year-old girl and in classic magical girl anime fashion, an animal reveals itself as a shapeshifter and takes the protagonist on a jouerny of discovery and magic. Nanoha saves an injured ferret who is in fact Yuno and together they set off on this journey to collect the Jewel Seeds, with her magical wand and Raising Heart by her side. Along the way, Nanoha meets a fellow magical girl who is her rival then friend, Fate Testarossa, and her familiar Arf, while facing dangers she has never known before.

Magical Girl Spec-Ops Asuka


Magical Girl Spec-Ops Asuka is a magical girl series that also has military elements and was serialized by Square Enix before becoming an anime in 2019. Asuka Otori is the protagonist of the show and is one of The Legendary Five, these women were a part of a squadron of 11 magical girls who were in a war with the Disas. The Legendary Five are the only survivors of the war from the squadron whose motto was “Who laughs last, laughs best…”.

The show takes place three years after the war against the Disas, who are beasts from another world, who have returned for unknown reasons. Asuka must join up with the remaining five girls from her squadron to fight this new threat and save the world.

Pages: 1 2 3 4

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: